"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

I just found out last night that the conference is going to be in Cincinnati (across the river, but it is essentially the same thing). The last couple years the conference has been in Baltimore. While I would love a chance to go to Baltimore, it just wasn’t going to happen. We just have too many medical bills to be able to swing a vacation to Baltimore this summer.

However, Cincinnati is completely doable. A couple hours down the road – basically in my back yard. I can go by myself if necessary – not sure the rest of the family would even want to go with me, although I would like it if they would.

I have felt desperate to go to the conference but it just hasn’t worked out  – in 2010, I had just ‘diagnosed’ Em in May and the conference was in July, so there was no way I could go. This past summer, Em was way too sick for me to leave her or for her to go with me and there was no way we could afford it anyway. This coming year, I have a chance to go and this is truly an answer to a prayer.

Furthermore, the conference taking place in Cincinnati will (hopefully) bring attention to the work Dr. Tinkle is doing and help educate the doctors in this area about EDS. We could certainly do with some awareness around here – specifically at Cin Children’s. I have a few docs I would love to nominate to go and listen, but I guess it doesn’t work that way! 🙂

Anyway, I am very, very excited about the 2012 Conference and am looking forward to it. Hope to see you there!

EDNF Learning Conference                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Northern Kentucky Conference Center, Cincinnati, OH                                                                                                                                                                                                       August 9-11 2012

Leave a Reply

