"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

I now have been blogging for a year – my ‘anniversary’ was the 16th – and I have been thinking about what I have unexpectedly gained over this past year.

I started out simply wanting a place to record my family’s journey and to be able to say what was on my heart. I didn’t think I had much to add to the conversation about EDS, but I wasn’t blogging for anyone but myself and I was fine with that.

But, the unexpected happened… at least it was unexpected to me, someone who viewed her blog as a private online journal, that no one would ever read. People started reading and commenting and following. I started making connections with other families who were traveling a similar road. I was able to share my burdens and help others with their own burdens. And the burdens got a bit lighter for the sharing…

Those connections are precious to me. I never would have met these folks otherwise and I feel so blessed to have had that opportunity.  I value the people who comment with their own stories and challenges – I shed tears for them, I pray for them and I worry about them.

When I started blogging, I was a bit focused on what we had lost, what EDS had taken from us. Now, I can clearly see what I have gained. And I know that I am blessed.

So, I just want to thank you.  For reading my posts, for starters – I tend to think anyone who actually reads my writing deserves a medal for doing so! More than anything, though,  I appreciate the connection with people who know what it is like to travel this path. The knowledge that I do not travel alone, is more precious than I can ever express.

Thank you for sharing my journey!

 

 

Comments on: "What a difference a year can make…" (2)

  1. Congratulations on your anniversary!

Leave a Reply

