"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

So, you might be wondering how Em’s PT visit went – after all, it was scheduled for last week and I have not yet mentioned it…

Well, that would be because I totally missed her appointment. At 11:00 pm, March 12, before I went to bed, I double checked my notes to make sure I had the right time for her appointment the next morning. You can imagine my horror when I realized her appointment was not for March 13 (as I had somehow got into my head) but instead, it was actually March 12 at 10:30 am and that I had totally, completely missed it.

Fortunately, my husband works in the PT department there and called the next morning to apologize for me and to reschedule as soon as possible. In fact, the PT that sees Em is one of my husband’s good friends and colleague so it wasn’t that big of a deal but still… I feel really, REALLY dumb.

The end result is that we get to wait ANOTHER 2 weeks to see Chuck for her neck when she really needed to see him a month ago. All because of me, which is pretty frustrating. I know it is just the ongoing stress and exhaustion of dealing with a child with a chronic illness, juggling a dozen doctors and attempting to have a life on the side, but I can’t help but shake my head at myself. Stress seems to be frying my remaining functional brain cells and, obviously, I have none to spare!

May as well laugh at myself – there is no sense in being upset about it. I am trying to keep a sense of humor about it and not beat myself up too badly.

I either need a vacation or the stress reduction kit displayed above… I think I will vote for the vacation. Or maybe just a good night of sleep!

Comments on: "Apparently, I am a wee bit stressed out…" (4)

  1. Hang in there. If you get the stress reduction kit I suggest using the doctor’s head to help reduce the stress. LOL. Take care of yourself so that you can take care of Em. Really tough advice to follow – I know, but try. Email anytime.

    • Stephanie,
      Hehehe – use the doctor’s head instead of mine. I like that thought, A LOT! Probably too much, but thanks for the giggle! I am trying to take care of myself – I learned that lesson from fighting a losing battle with a 8 mm kidney stone that I tried to ignore because it was inconvenient. I swore that I would take better care of myself in the future because you cannot take care of your kid when you are in the hospital or throwing up from the pain. I give myself a ‘C+’ in the self care department right now – not great but certainly better than the ‘F’ I was earning before. I have been coming to the conclusion that I need a bit of a break, time off or something to preserve my remaining brain cells. Or, just a chance to try that stress reduction kit on a few selected people. That might do it!

      Thanks again – I am going to email you. Sometime soon! When I have a spare few minutes, so maybe I shouldn’t say soon…

  2. imanenigma said:

    Ahhhh, I’ve done that. Just recently I went to a drs office a day earlier. Which isn’t so bad. It’s just that I had a friend drive because I have to use my power chair right now. Also, it was my first time there. Yes, we all laughed and I came back the next morning.

    • Yeah, being a day early isn’t bad and you can definitely have a laugh over it. I have non EDS friends who shared similar stories with me, so I know I am not the only one, which is a bit of a comfort!

Leave a Reply

