"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

I just heard back from the local pain doctor I was trying to make an appointment with. He personally called (1 point in his favor: a doctor who personally calls is generally great) on the day his receptionist promised to get back with me (another point in his favor: being prompt and reliable is a big deal).

Anyway, he said he would be happy to ‘get involved’ and take my daughter as a patient – that it doesn’t make sense for us to drive all the way to Cincinnati when we can do this locally. He just wants as much info – test results, blood work, and obviously medication list – that I can give him and he will help us.

This now gives us the chance to rid ourselves of Dr. G. We just no longer trust him or feel we can rely on him to help us in the way we need helped. Furthermore, his attitude seemed to imply that Em is causing her own pain and if she is ‘good’ and obeys him, she could be pain free. That, even more than the fact that he has hurt her every time he has seen her, was the last straw for me.

Now, I just hope and pray that Dr. V will be the doctor we need and are wanting on our team. I am hopeful at this point. It is hard when I have been hopeful over new doctor visits in the past and have had my hopes dashed, but I am holding on to hope nonetheless.

This whole journey is such a roller coaster ride – but today, we are up and I will gladly take it, refusing to consider the next dip that may be just around the bend!

 

Comments on: "Breathing a sigh of relief" (3)

  1. Beth,

    That is fantastic news. Keeping my fingers crossed that it all works out.

    Stephanie

    • Thanks, Stephanie! We got an appointment on April 10th – I have to gather up as many of her records as I can to give to Dr. V, but I am really looking forward to this. And this appointment is well before we were going to have to see Dr. G again to renew all of her scripts, so it gives us some wiggle room to decide what we want to do – depending on how the appointment goes. I think we are due for a break so hopefully it goes well. Going to be doing a lot of praying over the next few days!

  2. We will be praying for you as well.

Leave a Reply

