"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

Em got a very nasty ingrown toenail worked on today. And she did great. When she had the other foot done in August, we were so concerned – about the local anesthetic, about the possibility of developing RSD again, about dislocating her toes during the procedure, about the doctor being a jerk. None of which turned out to be a problem.

So, this time around, we didn’t worry at all (well, much…) and, once again, it was smooth sailing. I cannot say how nice it is to have something simple and easy to deal with – this is not the norm at all for us! I really like this doctor and her nurse. While the fix the doctor provided is supposed to prevent future ingrown toenails (which I do not 100% believe) and, if it does, we won’t need to see ever  her again, it it nice to know there is a good podiatrist that we can go to, if we ever need her.

That was the first of 4 medical appointments this week – one every day except Friday. It is going to be a long week!

Tomorrow is our appointment with the new pain doctor and I am trying not to be extremely nervous. I am also trying to have realistic expectations – I don’t want to set the bar so high that he will automatically fail, but I also don’t want to aim so low that we accept anything as acceptable.

I am hoping to find a doctor who will be our partner – a team player who will help us get to the bottom of Em’s pain and fatigue and treat it appropriately. I will be happy with someone who just treats my kid respectfully and doesn’t hurt her.

Our past doctor difficulties hover in the back of my mind, but I am hopeful that we have a real chance to develop a real rapport with a ‘thinking’ doctor. I am not getting my hopes up too much – I have been burned too many times to go in to this with no reservations – but I am going in with an open mind because I refuse to give up before we even begin.

Will come back tomorrow evening and post more – hopefully it will be good news!

 

Comments on: "That was easy… again!" (2)

  1. thinking about you with the pain dr. appointment. And praying for God’s grace to help you (It would have to be “miraculously” for me) let go of the past despair and frustration with previous dr. encounters and have His peace and clarity today.

    Glad Em found such peaceful (and non-confrontational) relief yesterday.

    We’re off to PT today after a very NMH/POTS/?? 3 days. We see her cardiologist next Monday and hopefully, he will have some guidance.

    So we carry on.

    Anne

    • Thanks so much for the thoughts and prayers. It is miraculous, but I was able to let go today and trust that all would be well. And it was. Knowing that God is on the job and holding us in His hands is the only thing that gets me through most days.

      POTSY days are the worst – being unable to be upright, dizzy and sick just totally prevents you from having a life. Em would have spells where she would be fine for a few days, then have several POTSY days, then the whole cycle would start again. With the Diamox and Zyrtec and Zantac, her POTSY days are less problematic, but I think only Gastrocrom will help fully in the long run. It really depends on the cause of the POTS, I was never convinced that it was only lax blood vessels in Em’s case.

      I hope you get some good guidance from the cardiologist. I know it is frustrating – I will be thinking of you and praying for you! Good things can happen so keep on carrying on!

Leave a Reply

