"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

Funny story.

Wait – a little background first:

I think I have mentioned that Em has struggled with her vision for quite a while. At first, I just chalked it up to normal EDS stuff and really didn’t know how much it impacted her. But it seemed to really cause her more issues as time went on. I was convinced that she had accomodation issues but didn’t know where to go from there. Thanks to Stephanie, at Everyday Chaos, I was introduced to the term convergence insufficiency and absolutely knew that was what Em had and that it could be treated. I just had to make it happen, somehow.  Then the opthamologist we saw was an idiot and totally blew off my concerns and then Em’s appendix decided to go postal, leading to emergency surgery that led to months of recuperation and other serious concerns. Bottom line, the vision issues haven’t gone away, they just got put on the back burner for awhile.

Now… funny story…

Yesterday, while we were having Em’s wheelchair assessment, I couldn’t help but notice the vision therapy equipment sitting around the room, which I recognized from my research into convergence insufficiency. I tried to keep my mind on the wheelchair discussion, but was asking myself – do they really do vision therapy here? As I mentioned in the previous post, this is a building I have spent considerable time in – as the wife of an employee and as the mother of a patient. I thought I knew about the services offered and SURELY my husband, as an employee who has worked there for 16 years, would have known if vision therapy was available through Reid Rehab. Right?

So, as we concluded the appointment, I asked the question that had been on the tip of my tongue the whole time. ‘Do ya’ll do vision therapy here?’ Rick said, yes they do and any doctor can refer us. Then the million dollar question flew out of my mouth – ‘Does Andrew know this?’ Poor Rick, as Em said, he got a deer-in-headlights look that I interpreted to mean he knew Andrew was going to be in trouble if he said yes. Although, in retrospect, it is entirely possible that it actually simply meant he thought I was nuts.

Anyway, turns out Andrew really didn’t know about the vision therapy or that there is an optometrist who does free screenings once a month. (In his defense, Andrew is not a pediatric therapist and works primarily with the geriatric population.) So, the answer to Em’s vision problems literally might  have been right in front of us this whole time. Andrew is going to run down info about how to get her screened and see what we need to do about getting her vision therapy.

Ironic that a 30 minute wheelchair assessment could solve both her mobility issues AND her vision issues. Reid Rehab really is very efficient!

 

Leave a Reply

