"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

I <3 Dr. D

I am about to protest in a small but important (at least to me) way and you are welcome to join me.

You may or may not be aware of the bruhaha on Inspire a while back about Dr. Diana being excluded from the speaking schedule at the Conference this year. To those of us whose lives have been changed because of her work, it makes little sense to exclude her.

The official word was: she has spoken before, there was no room this time, how did we know she hadn’t been asked and refused to come, etc.  As my 13 yo daughter would say : Whatever. Dr. D supporters were offended after being thoroughly stifled and I don’t think the issue was ever really resolved. I don’t mean to cause problems by bringing it up again and I am a little wary about mentioning it on Inspire, considering how it all went down previously.

But…it just feels wrong to know that Dr. D won’t be speaking. I feel pretty torn because I cannot boycott the conference and I want to support Dr. D. So, I came up with a little action that will quietly convey who I stand with. (Which, if anyone is curious, is anyone who is working to make life better for my kid and thus every EDSer.)

To show my support of Dr. D, I will be wearing this badge all weekend.

I wish I had thought of this sooner – I could have reached out and tried to get others on board, but, as usual, I had a great idea a little too late. And, I somehow don’t think this would be well received over on Inspire. But, they can’t do anything about me sharing this here! 🙂

If you are going to the conference and want to join my little statement, feel free to download this and make a badge to wear. I think I am ok with being the only one wearing this, but wouldn’t mind a little company!

Bottom line, my daughter would not even be able to go to the conference for an hour, let alone a whole day, if it were not for Dr. Diana Driscoll sharing her work on increased intracranial pressure and Diamox and MCAS and Zyrtec and Zantac. Last year, Em was far too ill to go or for me to leave her; this year, I am going and she is looking forward to spending a day at the conference. Enough said.

 

Leave a Reply

