"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

I have been composing a “Happy New Year’ post in my head, but just haven’t quite gotten around to writing it. So, for now, I will just wish everyone a very happy and wonderful new year…

I am a bit distracted right now and am focused on Em’s upcoming endoscopy. We have to be at Riley by 7:30 tomorrow. None of us are looking forward to it… I know it needs to be done, there is nothing more we can do until the doctor can see what is going on. But, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t worried. EDS makes everything more difficult and, while an endoscopy is not that big of a deal, the devil is in the details.

So, all I can do is have faith that the doctor and staff know what they are doing and trust they will do what needs to be done. I will breathe a sigh of relief when it is all over. Maybe then it will feel like we can actually get on with the new year!

Comments on: "Not the best way to start the new year…" (4)

  1. Em is in our prayers for a smooth and no EDS induced drama endoscopy.

  2. Margaret said:

    Beth,

    I’ve just recently come upon your blog and begun catch-up reading, so I’m not fully up to speed on the current situation with your daughter. However, I wanted to pass along a thought in case it might be helpful.

    I’m assuming you’re worried about your daughter’s endoscopy for all the normal reasons, but perhaps also b/c of the additional possibility of tearing, etc. with EDS. What about a capsule endoscopy? It’s a tiny camera in the shape of a pill that you swallow and it takes 10,000 pictures as it works it’s way the entire way through the GI tract. It sees tons more than endoscopies and colonoscopies can and, I’m assuming, the risks of punctures, etc. would be way less.

    I have no idea if your insurance will cover it. We’re fighting with my husband’s insurance co for him to have it (not for EDS reasons). However, it’s certainly worth a try and especially from an insurance perspective, if this procedure could prevent possible expensive and/or long-tern EDS complications from a cheaper procedure, they might go for it.

    God bless,

    Margaret

    • Thanks Margaret! Unfortunately, I doubt our insurance would go for the capsule endoscopy. You make a lot of sense, but our insurance doesn’t! 🙂

      I also think the doc will possibly need to take some biopsies, so he would probably say doing it this way is necessary. I am nervous, but he comes highly recommended and I need to have a little faith in him. Easier said than done!

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

