"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

Bits and Pieces

You may remember our disastrous appointment with the ophthalmologist a year ago – it was frustrating and unexpectedly traumatic. [Which was totally ridiculous, because, come on, it was just an eye exam, for cryin’ out loud. How can that possibly go wrong? Sadly, it went very wrong.]

We made a follow-up appointment before leaving that day, but I was livid and really never wanted to see Dr. H again. I drove away swearing that we would never darken his door again – I had every intention of cancelling the appointment. Then stuff happened, like an appendectomy and worsening GI symptoms and all of a sudden, it is a year later and that follow-up appointment was looming. 

As usual, I worried myself into a tizzy about it… as an EDSer, Em needs an annual eye exam (especially after her little eye escapade this fall – the doctor we saw then, Dr. M, said she didn’t have to be seen again if her symptoms resolved completely, but to absolutely get to her yearly check up that was scheduled with Dr. H). I couldn’t go to the scheduled appointment but I couldn’t not go. I  didn’t have anyone else to take her to but I was convinced that it would be a major issue to switch from Dr. H to Dr. M since they are in the same practice. I procrastinated until a couple of days before the appointment, until I had to make a decision or just suck it up and go.

Finally, I bit the bullet and just called, deciding I would either finagle an appointment with Dr. M or just tell them to cancel altogether.

In the end, it was utterly anti-climatic: they said, ‘Sure, we can make that appointment. How about the 21st?’ And I felt like a dweeb for getting so worked up about it.

So, we have an appointment with a doc that we like [ please don’t have to remind me that we liked Dr. H too at first] and, with any luck, we never have to see Dr. H again. It would be lovely if Dr. M doesn’t have a God complex or pretend he is an expert on EDS when he obviously isn’t or give us crap about Em being on Diamox or give horrible advice that he would NEVER apply to his own child. And if he were to take our concerns about convergence insufficiency seriously, all the better. Whatever we end up with, I don’t think he could possibly be worse than Dr. H. [I know, it is tempting fate to say that, but seriously, he CAN’T be worse, he just can’t be…]

And in totally unrelated but also good news

Andrew has recovered well after his surgery and has been cleared to go back to work. With luck, this surgery should last him another 15 – 20 years before anything else needs to be done. He is able to walk with little to no pain; in fact, very quickly after surgery, he was able to walk far better than he could before the surgery. Now he can walk without limping and has far better stability, so the surgery was definitely a success.

 

Comments on: "Bits and Pieces" (2)

  1. Why dont you like Dr. H? Is it Dr. H in Maryland?

    • Oh no, this is an eye doctor in Indiana/ Ohio – I just don’t like to name names, even if they deserve to be named and shamed. If anyone is in my area and wants the name ( either good or bad), I am happy to provide it. So, this post had nothing to do with Dr. Henderson at all – just a local eye doc who is a complete jerk. (In this post, I included links to previous posts about him, if you really want the whole story.)

Leave a Reply

