"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

You may remember me talking about a project Emily and I are working on – we are writing a book and hoping to get it published. I had sort of intended to have it ready and submitted a year ago but, well, that didn’t quite happen. It has been mostly written for almost a year, but I got sidetracked: the story of my life.

Anyway, we are back to seriously working on finishing… Emily is writing her portion (which may have been a large part of the delay) as I continue to remind her that this is formal writing which needs to be a notch (or two or ten) higher than her blog or other conversations. She is doing a good job, although I am slightly regretting telling her that I expected ‘real’ and ‘honest’ and not the sanitized version from her. I am thinking I should have requested sanitized and worked backwards…

On a serious note, this is a big deal and a fairly emotional undertaking for her so I am pleased that she is giving it a serious go. While she works on her part (basically, a short essay to accompany each chapter) I am working on our book proposal which will be submitted to agents in due time. The book proposal is nearly as complicated as writing the book itself, so it is no small task. I know we are not unique among authors who are convinced their book should be published, but, you and I both know that the EDS/ chronic illness community can always use another book that offers encouragement and hope. So, I am going to naively carry on believing that we will be published and hopefully my positivity will pay off. 🙂

I asked for help from my readers when I first got started writing and I am going to ask again:

rainbow scroll 2First, I would love it if you would comment with the title of any books on the topic of living with chronic illness or suffering or any topic that would be helpful to living  well with chronic illness that have helped you and you can personally recommend. This can be as a parent who has an ill child, a teenager who is ill, or an adult who is ill. I have a pretty substantial list of books, either that I have read or that have been recommended to me but I don’t want to miss any! So, tell me: What books are your go-to selections for encouragement, help, guidance in your life with chronic illness? What book would you give to a friend who was starting a journey with chronic illness?

rainbow scroll 2Second, I am including thoughts, comments, experiences of other teenagers who live with chronic illness. I have several people who have already contributed but have room for a few more. So, if you are, say, are a teenager up to mid-twenties and are interested in answering a few questions so I can include some of your thoughts into my book, let me know. Since the book is applicable for any chronic illness and not just EDS, I especially would like thoughts from other conditions: asthma, depression, anxiety, diabetes, Chiari – any chronic illness, really. I especially need the perspective of young men, as their experience may be a little different than girls. Comment below or contact me via the link in the sidebar.

rainbow scroll 2Third, please take a moment to hop over to this post and answer a couple questions in the poll. Part of the book proposal is research on why my book will sell. So, share your thoughts via the poll so I can have a few statistics on why this book is needed and a head start on future projects. If you have a comment to share about why a book such as this would be helpful, feel free to share it below.

I appreciate your help and am looking forward to hearing from you!

 

Comments on: "Need your help again…" (1)

  1. Anne F. said:

    Hi Beth,
    Here are some of my favorite go-to books to help with perspective and encouragement and mentoring via the written word.

    I’m Exhausted: What to Do When You’re Always Tired by David Powlison
    A CCEF publication

    Second Choice: Embracing Life As It Is by Viv Thomas

    Strength of Soul: a Sacred Use of Time by W. Phillip Keller

    The Anatomy of Hope: How People Prevail in the Face of Illness by Jerome Groopman, MD
    This is not faith based but has very interesting points and perspective. Library should have it.

    The Bible

    Books by Philip Yancey

    Books about and by Dr. Paul Brand such as The Gift of Pain, Ten Fingers for God.

    So excited for you and Em as this project gets ready to launch!
    Anne

Leave a Reply

