"Suffering the Slings and Arrows of Outrageous Fortune"

Last Tuesday, we had our long awaited visit with the neurologist at OSU. It is complicated and we are still absorbing it. I will post later this week about it – I think my head is finally to the point that I can write about it.

But the fun, and I say that with the greatest sarcasm, never stops around here. A couple weeks ago, Em dislocated her thumb badly  (as only an EDSer can)  and we are probably going to have to get it looked at. Not getting better on its own and isn’t likely to, I think.

Then, on Friday, we were coming home from Speech Therapy and had just pulled into our driveway, when Em suddenly felt a loud pop in her ear and got very dizzy. We knew there was fluid behind her ear drum but had been told to just keep an eye on it. Honestly, it never stopped hurting – she just didn’t complain much about it in the last couple weeks because she had so many things going on:  something like an ear ache just doesn’t register very high on the priority list when everything is falling apart.

I called the ENT – it was late on Friday afternoon so I really didn’t think there was any chance of him seeing her and I found out he wasn’t in anyway so it was a wasted call. The nurse said to just go to Urgent Care. We were both too tired to deal with it on Friday but when her ear still hurt and she was still so dizzy on Saturday, off we went.

Sure enough, her ear drum is perforated. Again. She is on antibiotics and I guess we just wait it out. She has an appointment with the ENT in April, but I guess if it continues to be a problem I can call and hope he can see her earlier. Clearly, something is going on with that ear – not sure what it is and no one seems terribly interested in figuring it out. At least the perforation is documented and we know to be very careful about getting fluid in her ear for awhile. (I still think she had a CSF leak in her ear and that was the fluid buildup, but what do I know?)

The funny part about our Urgent Care visit, is that the Neurology Nurse Practicioner who has seen her for 4 1/2 years (and is the one who prescribed her Diamox) works over there on weekends and he is the one who saw her. So, we had a little impromptu neurology visit and were able to update him on what all has happened since we last saw him. I was still pretty ticked about the fact that he tried to send Em to psychiatry for her seizure episodes but I let that pass and opted not to strangle him or anything. We are getting the episodes addressed and he is fine with the course we are on (not that it would matter if he wasn’t, tbh) so it wasn’t a bridge that needed burning on that day.

I will update more about the episodes in the near future as well, since the new neuro is addressing them.  Brian did earn back a few points when he asked what antibiotics she could safely take. He knows she is complex and I appreciated that. And he totally understood when I said anything but the fleuroquinilones. I might be able to eventually forgive him assuming her seizures are psychogenic before attempting to rule them out. Maybe.

So, anyway, another perforated ear drum – the second since November. Like she needs another problem.

Leave a Reply

